ENDWELL FIRE DISTRICT BOARD OF FIRE COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING JANUARY 05, 2022

Members Present: Carlton "Andy" Anderson Don Battaglini Mark Storm Michael Hamzik Others Present:
Michael Battaglini, Fire Chief
Robert Congdon, Assistant Chief
Erika Pereira, Administrative Assistant
Alison Senft, Treasurer
Anthony Fiacco
Rob Brady

At the Organizational meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners of the Endwell Fire District held on January 05, 2022 at the Endwell Firehouse located at 3508 Country Club Road in Endwell, New York. The meeting was called to order by Treasurer Alison Senft who acted as Chairman at 4:17 pm. Notice of the meeting appeared in the Press Sun Bulletin on December 17, 2021 and was displayed on the message sign board.

1. Election of Fire District Officers:

- a. Member Battaglini nominated Carlton "Andy" Anderson as Chairman of the Fire District, second by Member Hamzik. All aye; motion carried. Member Anderson elected as chairman for the year 2021. At this time Chairman Anderson took over chairing the meeting.
- b. Member Hamzik nominated Donald "Don" Battaglini as Vice Chairman of the Fire District, second by Member Storm. All aye; motion carried.
- c. Member Battaglini nominated Mark Storm as Secretary of the Fire District, second by Member Hamzik. All aye; motion carried. Member Storm elected as Secretary.
- d. Member Hamzik nominated Alison Senft as Treasurer for the Fire District, second by Member Storm. All aye; motion carried. Alison Senft appointed Treasurer.
- e. Member Storm nominated Marcy Pratt as Deputy Treasurer for the Fire District, second by Member Hamzik. All aye; motion carried. Marcy Pratt appointed Deputy Treasurer.
- 2. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Hamzik to appoint Angelo D. Catalano of Coughlin & Gerhart as our attorney for 2022. All aye; motion carried.
- 3. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Battaglini to designate the Press & Sun Bulletin as the official newspaper of the Fire District. All aye; motion carried.
- 4. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Hamzik to utilize M & T Bank as the official bank of the fire district. All aye; motion carried.
- 5. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Battaglini to authorize the Treasurer to invest funds per the Endwell Fire District investment policy. All aye; motion carried.
- 6. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Hamzik to designate with authority to sign checks to Alison Senft, Marcy Pratt and Anthony "Tony" Fiacco. All aye; motion carried.

7. RESOLUTION 1.1

BE IT RESOLVED that the regular monthly meetings of the Fire District the fourth Wednesday of every month; meetings will be at 4:30 pm, work sessions at 4:00 pm. The meetings will be held at the Endwell Firehouse located at 3508 Country Club Road in Endwell, New York. The location and time of the meeting may be changed by further resolution of the Board of Fire Commissioners upon proper notification to the local media of such change.

8. RESOLUTION 1.2

BE IT RESOLVED that the Fire District will maintain membership in the following organizations:

- Association of Fire District of the State of New York (AFDSNY)
- Fireman's Association of the State of New York (FASNY)
- National Fire Protection Association

RESOLUTION 1.3

BE IT RESOLVED that the Fire District will support membership by the Chief in the following Organizations:

- New York State Association of Fire Chiefs
- International Association of Fire Chiefs
- Broome County Firefighter's Association
- Broome County Fire Chief's Association
- Western Broome County Fire Chief's Association
- Fire Engineering
- 9. Reviewed District Polices; Ethics Policy, Investment Policy, Credit Card Use Policy, Purchasing and Procurement Policy, Alcohol and Drug Policy, Public Comment at Meetings & Hearings Policy, FOIL Policy, Record Retention and Destruction Policy, Sexual Harassment Policy, Smoking and Tobacco Policy, Disciplinary Policy. No changes were made to the policies.
- 10. Motion was made at the December 15, 2021 meeting to provide a three percent increase in salary for all employees for the year 2022.
- 11. Motion by Member Battaglini, second by Member Hamzik to appoint the following commissioner to the following committees for the year 2022.
 - a. Day-to-day Operations/Facilities: Anderson; Hamzik
 - b. Equipment: Battaglini, Storm, Anderson
 - c. Long Term Planning/Finance/Budget: Hamzik; Storm
 - d. Personnel and Training: Battaglini, Anderson, Storm
 - e. One Non-Voting Member of the Ethics Board: Anderson

All aye; motion carried.

- 12. Motion by Storm, second by Member Battaglini to approve the following commissioner appointments to the Fire Company Committees for the year 2022:
 - a. Life and Honorary Membership: Storm
 - b. Income and Contingency Fund: Storm
 - c. Memorial Fund: Battaglini
 - d. By-Laws: Storm (alternate Hamzik)

e. Uniforms: Hamzik All aye: motion carried.

- 13. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Del Bianco to permit the Treasurer to pay, in advance of audit, vouchers, utilities, payroll, debt service, credit cards and special check request as due. All aye; motion carried.
- 14. The Treasurer is still finalizing reports for 2021. As soon as that is completed all records will then go to Jerome Bignoli for the annual report to be completed for the state and then to Mondorf & Fenwick for the mandated state audit.
- 15. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Battaglini to approve payment of bills received between 12-16-2021 through 01-05-2022; Vouchers #12-069 to 12-111 totaling in the amount of \$76,826.37. All aye; motion carried.
- 16. Motion by Member Battaglini, second by Member Hamzik to approve the list of Fire Company events for 2022. All aye; motion carried.
- 17. Motion by Member Battaglini, second by Member Hamzik to approve the chief officers as elected by the O. L. Davis Fire Company for the year 2022:
 - a. Chief: Michael Battaglini
 - b. 1st Asst. Chief: Matthew Grafton
 - c. 2nd Asst. Chief: Robert Congdon
 - d. 3rd Asst. Chief: Kyle Ferraro

Other 2022 officers include:

- a. Captains Nathan Leonard & Jason Stupski
- b. Lieutenants Adam Badertscher, Mark Storm and Kristin Dewey (Three Lieutenant position are open)
- c. Fire Police Captain Vacant
- d. Fire Police Lieutenant Jonathan Metera and Davey Cortes.

All aye; motion carried.

- 18. We received four donations. One from James Mason in the amount of \$100.00, one from Raymond and Sandra Berchtold in the amount of \$75.00, one from Michelle R Beatty with the Park Manor Homeowners Association in the amount of \$50 and one from James Georgoudes in the amount of \$40.00. Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Battaglini to place the donations in our donation fund. All aye; motion carried.
- 19. Fire Commissioner Kenneth Del Bianco passed away on December 25, 2021. Commissioner Hamzik stated that there are three people interested in filling the vacant position. The open position term expires on December 31, 2022. Commissioner Battaglini would like to wait until the January regular meeting to appoint a person to fill the position.

Motion by Member Storm, second by Member Battaglini to adjourn at 4:30 pm. All aye; motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mark Storm

Secretary